CPS Regional Groups & Societies

Ontario East Regional Group

Dear Colleagues and Friends

CPS Eastern Ontario Regional annual meeting will be held on Nov 30 at CFIA Ottawa Laboratory (3850 Fallowfield Road, Ottawa), 10:00 am-4:00 pm. Previously it has been attended by 50 – 60 research scientists, professors, technicians, and students from government research institutes, universities, and companies around eastern Ontario and nearby Quebec area. A one-day program included invited and contributed speeches, and a poster session. Sponsored by CPS headquarter and companies (SeCan, Syngenta, ThermoFisher), Lunch, coffee breaks and student poster competition rewards were provided.

Highlights for this year:

  • Invited speeches :
    • Dr. Dilantha Fernando, talk about Canola blackleg research in his lab, which has brought significant transformation to the Canadian agriculture sector and the seed industry, setting a great example for connecting the laboratory research with the productivity of growers and industries.
    • Stephan Briere, “A journey in a plant pathology diagnostic lab”.  I am sure we will learn a lot by looking back the way they have come along.
  • Student competition for both oral and poster presentations.
  • Meeting will be held in newly renovated auditorium at CFIA Ottawa Laboratory

To register 2018 CPS EOR meeting (Canadian Phytopathological Society Eastern Ontario Region meeting), Please click Sign-up or paste the following address in your browser https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/18Ll9wjfleXck1nXtYtz_2Hm9YZFkjc1yxRmLduT6PrI/edit?usp=sharing and type your information in the spreadsheet (as shown in the example line). The registration has no charge.  However, to publish Abstract in Canadian Journal of Plant Pathology, a fee $35 / Abstract will be charged.  The format of Abstract must strictly conform to CJPP requirements.
Please DO NOT put your credit card information on the sheet, only contact person and phone number instead.  We will call you later.

We look forward to seeing you all!
For more information please contact Guillaume.Bilodeau@canada.ca or Miao Liu miao.liu@canada.ca

Miao Liu
On behalf of organizing committee









Report on the 2017 CPS-Eastern Ontario Regional Meeting

The Canadian Phytopathological Society’s Eastern Ontario Regional meeting was held on November 17, 2017, at the Ottawa Research and Development Centre (ORDC), Central Experimental Farm in Ottawa, ON. The over 60 participants included research scientists, professors, technicians, and students from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), Carleton University and two companies. The meeting started with welcome remarks delivered by Dr. Michèle Marcotte (ORDC Director, AAFC) followed by a special session entitled “Mycology and microbe-plant interactions – A one and half century endeavour in Canada.” Since one of the scheduled speakers was unable to attend, Dr. Miao Liu stepped in with a historical account of ergotism and the study of ergot fungi. Dr. Gopal Subramaniam gave an overview of plant-microbe interaction studies in the post genomic era. Four contributed talks were given by Emily Giroux (CFIA), Renlin Xu (AAFC), Guillaume Bilodeau (CFIA) and David Overy (AAFC) focusing on the topics of fungal and bacterial genomics, molecular detection, population genetics, and mycotoxin in grains. In total, 12 posters were presented, including one by Frédéric Vachon (under the supervision of Dr. Linda Harris, ORDC/AAFC) which won the student poster competition.

The organizing committee would like to thank the sponsors of the CPS-EOR meeting for their generous support: CPS for supporting regional meetings ($1,000), SeCan ($300) for the student awards, ThermoFisher ($300) and Syngenta ($150) for the coffee breaks, and AAFC for facility support.

Registration: Guillaume Bilodeau, Miao Liu
Advisors: Kenneth Conn, Sarah Hambleton, Keith Seifert,
Judges for student poster competition: Jeremy Dettman (Chair), Hai Nguyen, Miao Liu
Abstract editor & production: James Tambong
Moderators: Wen Chen, Tara Rintoul
Room Setup: Jacques Pomerleau, Parivash Shoukouhi, Rafik Assabgui
Photography: Quinn Eggertson